Stuffing the stocking…on a grad student’s budget

We all know the struggle. It’s like bills don’t know that they’re supposed to stop coming around the holidays.

I’d rather spend all the money on friends, family and of course, Kai. But like most dream crushers, bills don’t stop and my bank account has to be very picky about gifts this year.

I think, like most devoted fur moms I’m sure, that my dog deserves the world and more. Lucky for me, Kai thinks a toy from the dollar store is the equivalent of the world, so that makes my Christmas shopping for him a piece of cake.

As for the boyfriend, that’s a bit harder.

He started a new job recently that required a complete revamping of his wardrobe and lifestyle. For his stocking, it’s a bit harder but I was still able to manage.

Kai’s stocking

I bought the stockings for the fam on a dollar store budget. I bought three stockings at $1 each from the Dollar Tree. Guys, the DT has some very cost-effective and cute holiday decorations. I also bought an eight-pack of markers to draw and label the stockings.

img_2011Kai’s toy box is teeming with toys already. I wanted to keep his toy collection at about, if not a bit more, than where it was at. I purchased the cutest toys at the Dollar Tree (I’m tellin’ you guys!!!).

Since I wanted to avoid only adding to the collection of toys, that admittedly would be found destroyed a few days later I’m sure, I wanted to add some treats I know he loves. Kai is a huge fan of Busy Bones and anything like it. A bag of six treats goes anywhere from $7-8 usually and off-brands from $5.75+. Kai isn’t too picky, so I stuffed his stocking with a few treats I found at H-E-B for a $1.

Peter’s stocking

Peter spends 24 percent of his week at work. That doesn’t sound like a lot, but in comparison to the rest of the week, 40 hours of the total 168 is a good chunk. This doesn’t count any time that he spends outside of work, visiting with friends and family in his work attire.

He lives in his dress pants, collared shirts and tie. So my approach to his stocking stuffers were practical items he would benefit from.

Extra Peppermint Gum is my breath lifesaver and since he steals from my pack often, I found it fitting to stuff his stocking with his own. Though our circumstances are slightly different, the result is the same: clean smelling breath. I chew to prevent from snacking at my desk all day long. He needs it to clean up his breath in between lunch and the second half of his day. Most packs of gum cost 99¢ which is great for my wallet…and chewing obsession.

IMG_2010.png

An important aspect of Peter’s job is his interaction with people on the daily. His skin suffers from dryness in the winter. POND’S sells small pots of face cream and anti-aging cream that are both easy to fit in a stocking and easy to carry in your car. I found these at H-E-B for $1.47 each but they’re available wherever body care is sold.

The finishing touches of the stocking was tied it all together. Literally. I bought a nice tie from Kohl’s on sale to add to his collection. The Apt. 9 tie was only $19.99 and it came with a clip tie! I prefer dark colors but you can find them in almost any shade, with or without clips and varying prices. Apt. 9 is both affordable and sturdy!img_2012

Finally, I gave him what all pet owners need: Scotch Brite Lint Rollers. Kai has a lot of hair (curse the corgi-sheltie in him!) and it gets everywhere. A twin-pack of these rollers are perfect to fit in a car and in a desk drawer. I found these mini ones at H-E-B for under $3!

 

In total, between the two, I saved a lot as opposed to what I’ve stuffed stockings in the past. I’d love to know…What did you stuff your stockings with?

Leave a comment